5 months later – from house to home

5 months have flown by. Ok, so I should have been at this stage about 6 weeks ago. But I lost 3 weeks when the first builder cancelled on me and then another 3 weeks with plumber issues.

Still, not too bad when I’ve been working mostly on my own and fitting the renovation around a full time job, a band and the meetup group that I run.

I forget what the house used to look like until I look back over the photos. It used to be in a serious state!

Bedroom 2 is done for now. It was put back to a reasonable condition for my lodger, but it will need some more work on it when he moves out before I come to sell.

Bedroom 3 is done –  apart from painting the door & door frame. Not inc the double glazing, which will be done next summer/autumn.

bedroom 3 before

my drum room (just need a new kit)

The hall  looks like a hall, not like the entrance to a building site. I need to fix a small bit of plasterboard above the door, box in the electric cables and board up a small section of the ceiling where it changes in height.

The lounge is almost complete. The sofa covers have been washed and I can sit and watch TV and actually relax. The TV still needs to go on the wall though.

I need to finish off the coving, cement the fire into place and paper the chimney (lining paper is done). Then I need to choose curtains.

Very tired old lounge

lounge update

The kitchen is even closer to total completion. It’s been properly functioning for a couple of months now, I’ve just got my dining table in and I even put up my new funky clock last night.

Within the next week or so I should have finished the odds and ends, except for boxing in the pipes and clipping on the plinths (need to wait to borrow my dads car for transporting the materials).

Small Old Kitchen

kitchen refurb

kitchen refurb

kitchen update

The wet room has a working shower and toilet. It’s so nice showering in a clean environment! It still has some bits to finish off, including plumbing in a sink.

before

wet room update

The front room is in a dim state. Once I’ve finished the odds and ends in the kitchen and hall I’ll be working on this room again. I need a spare bed for visitors so I don’t get kicked out of my bedroom and onto the sofa!

The master bedroom, upstairs bathroom and stairs & landing haven’t been touched and won’t be for a while. I’m aiming to get the upstairs bathroom completed in Feb and then having several months off, to drum, drink and get my business head back on. In that order.

Leave a Reply

