Week 3 Update (What a week!)

A long hard week. I’m ill too, so had a bit of an easier work, so had to work hard this weekend. I worked around 32 hours from Fri eve til Sun. Bed time after this is published! zzzzzzzzzz

Me and Dad

Me and Dad got the old plaster off the kitchen ceiling, it needs boarding and skimming, and the plaster was lose so was best to knock it off, rather than have excess weight on the boards – especially because my drum kit will be on the floor above and that causes a lot of floor vibrations! (even though its only an electric one)

Kitchen – back to laths

The plaster came away pretty easily… half of the ceiling was boarded though, so that took a bit longer (Dad did that – he did most of the ceiling to be fair). When the new kitchen goes in, the hob will be on the party wall, but we’ll feed a pipe along the ceiling before its boarded, so the fan can extract properly, rather than just circulate.

Ceiling plaster, rubble… and a dirty dog!

Finlay loves to be where the action is, hence dust, plaster and paint on him!

Kitchen Progress – updated

Dad fitted the door to the 2nd bedroom. Needs sanding down and filling in, painting and a handle adding etc. There was a sliding door here 2 weeks ago. This nice Victorian door was the sliding door on the bottom of the stairs, but with an ugly panel stuck onto the front of it.

Bedroom 2 – has a door

I was going to leave the wallpaper on this room for now, as my lodger is moving in 2 weeks today. Hence why I had painted the ceiling and then put a coat of grey onto the walls. The grey came out bad – a real blue tinge to it when it had dried. I’m going to take the paint back to the shop.

I suddenly thought, sod it – I’m going to repaint anyway, so I’m stripping the paper… I knew I’d have to work hard and fast… in one (long late evening) and this weekend I’ve stripped the wall paper, filled the walls, sanded the walls, filled again, sanded again and then washed and primed virtually all of the room. Thanks to Le (sister in-law) for helping with the washing and Matt (bro) for priming. Dad filled in the big holes. Need to fill and sand again, then prime and see if I need to fill and sand yet again.

Bedroom 2 Progress

Eventually, I will be painting the walls Magnolia and the chimney breast English Fire red (Paul’s request for a bit of red). The walls will be finished in here within 2 weeks, as I say my lodger will be moving in, so I’m on a deadline. All’s good, in love and war. My right wrist and elbow silently disagree.

English Fire Paint

Throughout the week I washed the hallway. It took around 10 hours to get the walls washed. The paint was so patchy I had to take it back to the plaster.

Hallway washed

Over the weekend, whilst waiting for filler to dry in Bedroom 2 and waiting for the takeaway Pizza I filled some holes in the hall. Mum filled some more Sunday and did some sanding. Still has some more to fill. Due to the bad walls it will be another sand, fill, sand, prime / sand again, fill again, sand, prime / sand again, fill again, sand, prime job! Will then be painting the walls Magnolia.

Hall partly filled

We turned the front reception room into a proper little temporary kitchen. The only thing missing from the table is the Toaster Oven (blue Argos box), which we tested cooking some pizzas, garlic bread and chicken slices. It’s pretty small, but fits in a small pizza etc and cooks pretty quick. The only pain is not having a sink, but got fridge-freezer, mini oven, grill, toaster and kettle, and will move my microwave in – so got everything we need.

Temporary kitchen for the next 7 weeks or so

Prob the dirtiest I’ve been yet…

To Do List for Week 4:

  1. Submit Building Regs forms & sort start date for builder
  2. Structural Engineer booked in to calculate size of RSJ
  3. Band practice, didn’t manage to make it last week (need to rest arms a bit night before!)
  4. Finish washing & priming bedroom 2 walls (prob only 1/8th left)
  5. Fill, sand and prime all bedroom 2 walls again (x 2)
  6. Move a 1/2 my bedroom stuff from rented house across
  7. Patch up bedroom door
  8. Undercoat to bedroom door (bedroom side)
  9. Fill, sand and prime hall

Bedtime now, night x

Leave a Reply

